Ryan's Place

Wednesday, March 08, 2006

Alexander Named NFC Offensive Player of the Year

From Seahawks.com:

The 36th Annual NFL 101 Awards were held on on Saturday, March 4 in in Kansas City, and Shaun Alexander was there to receive the award for NFC Offensive Player of the Year. The award was presented by Seahawks running backs coach Stump Mitchell.

Also honored from the NFC were Chicago Bears head coach Lovie Smith and Bears linebacker Brian Urlacher. The Colts swept the AFC honors, with Peyton Manning named the AFC Offensive Player of the Year, Dwight Freeney the Defensive Player of the Year, and head coach Tony Dungy Coach of the Year.

For 36 years, a committee of 101 sportswriters and broadcasters who cover the NFL have selected three individuals from each conference to be honored as the offensive player, defensive player, and coach of the year. The event serves as a benefit for the Chiefs Children’s Fund, a foundation that distributes funds to children’s charities throughout the Kansas City area.


Post a Comment

<< Home